I am home! 18 days and around 7500 miles.

Hi all!

I am finally getting a minute to blog. It has taken me a couple days to try and get back into normalcy. My sleep schedule still has been pretty off, but that is to be expected.

The day before I returned home I had some problems right outside of Minneapolis, MN. I was concerned that I was going to worry a lot of people because the tracker was not moving. The problem that I ran into was that my chain broke. It damaged a good bit in terms of cosmetics. I was lucky that no damage really came to the operation of the motorcycle. I just needed to get towed to a shop near by and they had me in and out. After about a 7500 mile trip I am glad that was all I had to deal with. At the time, I was very upset because I did not know if that would be the end of the trip, so my emotions were wild. It all worked out though. I was in and out of the shop in no time. So on my 17th day of riding I was on the road for a long while. I did not get into South Bend, IN till about 11:15pm. I was able to see a little of Notre Dame University in the dark, which was nice.
I had a pretty smooth ride from South Bend to home. I was very eager to get home so most of the ride went relatively fast. I am just glad to be home safe to relieve some worries that my loved ones had.

Overall, this trip was a trip of a life time for me. While I may have done some things differently, I had the most incredible experience. I hope to tell these stories for the rest of my life. I am so grateful to everyone who has supported me through my journey. If it was not for knowing that everyone was tracking me it would have been much harder for me. I want every single person that has followed me to know that it really meant the world to me. I feel like this trip was a success. I know many people wanted a lot more to come from it, but I believe it was perfect. I met some incredible people and had amazing conversations about autism. I also was fortunate to see how individuals with autism receive services all over. And in the end, we raised over $2300 and counting. Everyone still can donate! It means everything to me knowing that this money will help others receive the supports they need. All the struggles and sacrifices I had were all worth it in the end because I know how much the awareness means and I know what that money can do. I am proud of this trip and it really could not have been completed without the support that I had. It was not just me out there. Thank you to everyone once again.

I am a little disappointing with myself on not keeping up with social media. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be. Once I crossed over to Canada I was not able to use twitter or instagram. I know it’s okay, but it would have been nice to have that and keep up with it.

I will be posting again on the rest of my thoughts on the trip. Please stay tuned. I think I will be getting interviewed by at least one more newspaper. I know the Daily Local in West Chester will be. I will keep everyone updated.

Remember you can keep donating! This is an amazing cause and every dollar goes far. We are so close to the $2500 goal. Please keep it up. As I get back into life off two wheels I will post again. http://www.youcaring.com/nonprofits/alaska-bound-for-autism/53795

Thank you again to everyone.

Jimmy

Image

Motorcycle minutes after returning home.

Image

My dog Desmond and I, who was one of my greatest reasons for wanted to come home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

